Our team will be unavailable from December 25, 2023, to January 1, 2024.
We will resume operations on January 2, 2024. Wishing you a joyful holiday season!

Board of Directors

Building the business of life sciences in SC

SCbio is led by a Board of Directors comprised of dynamic and invested industry and business leaders and governed by an Executive Committee elected by their peers.  Together with the support of SCbio staff, they author the strategy and lead the advance of life sciences in South Carolina.

Fiduciary and Operations Board

James Chappell, Ph.D


Lou Kennedy

SCbio Past chair; CEO, Nephron Pharmaceuticals
David Stefanich

David Stefanich

SCbio Board chair; Founder & CEO, Rymedi
Christopher Hanson article

Christopher Hanson

Vice Chair; Partner, Nelson Mullins

Dan Nodes

Treasurer; Chief Operating Officer, VIKOR Scientific

Dr. Matthew Cannon, DO

Secretary; Dean for the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM), Carolinas

Greg Marshall

Officer; Corporate VP, COO, Charles River Labs

Thornton Kirby

Officer; CEO, SC Hospital Association

Cynthia Y. Young, Ph.D

Officer; Dean, College of Science, Clemson University

Ashely Teasdel

Officer; Deputy Secretary of Commerce, SC Department of Commerce

Herbert Drayton

Officer (AT LARGE); Managing Partner, HI Mark Capital

Scott Pancoast

Officer (AT LARGE); CEO & Founder, Zylö Therapeutics

Strategic Advisory Board

Juliette Bogus

President & CEO, Inspire Agency

Mandy Brawley

Director, SC Department of Commerce

Caroline Brown

Chief Strategy and External Affairs Officer, Medical University of South Carolina

Jason Brown

Sr. Account Manager, Elkem Silicones

John Cadena

Manager of Economic Development and Local Government, Dominion Energy

Jody Chastain

President and CEO, Ritedose

James Chavez

President and CEO, SC Power Team

Tushar Chikhliker

SHAREHOLDER and economic development practice group leader, Maynard Nexsen PC

Matthew Couvillion

Attorney, Wyche Law Firm

Stephen Creech

Assistant VP, Blue Cross Blue Shield of South Carolina
Stephen Cutler

Stephen Cutler, Ph.D.

Dean College of Pharmacy, University of South Carolina

Ronda Dean

President & CEO of Afaxys

Herb Dew

Co-Founder, Chairman & CEO, HTI

Dr. Jeff DeLisi

President & CEO of Roper St. Francis Healthcare

Deepal Eliatamby

President, Alliance Consulting Engineers, Inc.

Christopher Fortier, PharmD, FASHP, CPEL

President, 503B Outsource compounding, nephron pharmaceuticals

Jesse Goodwin, Ph.D.

Chief Innovation Officer; Medical University of South Carolina

Mike Graney

VP, Charleston Regl. Develop. Alliance

Chad Hardaway

Associate Director, Office of Economic Engagement, University of South Carolina

Tim Hardee, Ed.D.


Trent Holland

Middle market banking leader, Truist

Angie Leidinger

VP External Affairs, Clemson University

Curtis McDonald

State Govt. Affairs, Bristol Myers Squibb

Alan Myers

Vice president, general manager, southeast region, quest diagnostics

Craig Nies

Senior Member of Technical Staff, KYOCERA AVX Components

David Orr

Ceo, Medpoint

Bob Quinn​

President & CEO, SCRA

Robert Ryan, Ph.D.

CEO, innova Therapeutics

Kay Self

Executive Director, VisionGreenwood

David Shalaby


David Shenberger

VP Marketing & Consulting Services, CAI

Dr. Steve Skinner, MD

Director, Greenwood Genetic Center

Samantha Spratt

Business Recruitment Officer, Upstate SC Alliance

Kimberlee Steele

Managing Director, SHL Medical

Todd Stack

GM Medical Solutions, Henry Schein Inc.

Brandon Thomas

Principal, Elliott Davis

Gary Thompson

Sr. Director Operations, Abbott

Svetlana Varkonyi

Associate Director - Enviroment SHaping, Eli Lilly and Company
Stephanie Yarbrough

Stephanie Yarbrough

Partner, Womble Bond Dickinson LLP

Join now to enjoy expanded member benefits!

Enjoy exclusive member content, special events, savings, networking and more

Tamia Sumpter

Tamia is a driven senior undergraduate Bioengineering student currently enrolled at Clemson University. With a strong foundation in her field, she has honed her skills through hands-on experience in research and development at Eli Lilly & Company. During her time in the ADME department, Tamia contributed significantly by working on siRNAs and their applications in finding In Vitro-In Vivo Correlation (IVIVC). Looking ahead, Tamia has set her sights on a promising career in law. She aspires to specialize in Intellectual Property Law, with a particular focus on serving as in-house counsel for leading medical device or pharmaceutical companies. Her enthusiasm for this role is palpable as she prepares to embark on her legal journey! She is also a proud member of the Omicron Phi chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., PEER Mentor for Clemson PEER/WiSE, and currently serves as the President of Clemson Bioengineering Organization (CBO). With her unique blend of scientific knowledge and legal interests, Tamia is poised to make a meaningful impact in the healthcare and life sciences industries.