Skip to Main Content

Councils & Committees

Volunteers are the lifeblood of any organization, and SCBIO is no exception.  SCBIO is powered by a dynamic team of public/private members and stakeholders, and we encourage every one to become involved at the highest level possible... thereby getting the absolute most out of your membership.

Of course, some levels of Investorship/Membership come with participation in some of the most engaged and prestigious arenas -- as a member of our Board of Directors, participation in the exclusive Chairman's Circle, active engagement with other executives on our CEO Roundtable, or with the guarantee of rubbing elbows and exchanging insights and business ideas on the Innovation & Industry Council.

Still want more?  A full slate of committees will help you build relationships and take a leadership role in the life sciences industry of South Carolina -- on our Annual Conference Committee, Marketing Committee, and more. 

SCBIO Annual Conference/Events Committee

Manages and executes conference programming, operations, marketing, fundraising and hospitality for the annual SCBIO conference

Ms. Heather Simmons Jones, Chair - CEO, Greenwood Partnership Alliance
Mr. Marc Metcalf, Co-Chair - Upstate SC Alliance

Innovation & Industry Council

Comprised of subject matter experts and nationally recognized leaders  in the life sciences arena, along with representatives of Founding, Vision, Mission, Premier and Palmetto partners, convenes at least twice annually.  Investor representatives will typically serve a 1-year term to coincide with their corporate SCBIO investment term.  Individual members may be called on for involvement in specific economic development projects and initiatives.

Mr. Sam Konduros, Chair - SCBIO, President & CEO
Ms. Cristina Acevedo - Milliken Healthcare Products, LLC
Mr. Michael Bolick - Selah Partners; SCBIO Chair (former)
Ms. Cindy Clark
Ms. Laura Corder - SC Department of Commerce
Mr. Matthew Couvillion - Partner, Wyche Law Firm
Ms. Morgan Crapps - Partner, Nexsen Pruet, LLC
Mr. Chuck Crumpton - CEO, Medpoint, LLC
Mr. John "JJ" Darby - Johnson & Johnson
Ms. Brandy Davis - Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP
Ms. Rebecca Delegge - SCBIO, Chair (former)
Mr. Matt Gevaert - KIYATEC, CEO
Dr. Jeremy Gilbert - Clemson University
Mr. Chad Hardaway - University of South Carolina
Mr. Will Harms - Blue Cross Blue Shield of South Carolina
Mr. Adam Hoots - DPR Construction
Mr. David Huizenga - Moterum, CEO
Ms. Erica Jackson - Partner, K&L Gates
Ms. Lou Kennedy - CEO, Nephron Pharmaceuticals Corporation
Mr. Bob Kodrzycki - Encompass Biotech
Ms. Chelsea Ex Lubeskie - MUSC Foundation for Research Development
Mr. John Lummus - CEO, Upstate SC Alliance
Mr. Curtis McDonald - PhRMA
Ms. Angela Nelson - Parker Poe
Mr. Craig Nies - AVX Corporation
Mr. John Osborne - Goiod Growth Fund, Principal
Ms. Shannon Pierce - New Oceans Health; CareCam
Dr. Chris Przirembel - Clemson University, VP Emeritus
Mr. Shawn Regan - CEO, Rhythmlink International, LLC
Mr. Cody Reynolds - PRISMA Health/Greenville Health System
Mr. Michael Rusnak - MUSC Foundation for Research Development
Mr. Jeff Stover - Partner, Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd
Mr. Tom Strange - Abbott Laboratories

Investor Relations & Fundraising

Ms. Courtney Warren, Co-ChairMarsh & McLennan Agency, Industry Practice Leader
Ms. Erin Ford, Co-Chair - SCBIO, Executive Vice President
Mr. Craig Walker - VidiStar, CEO & Founder
Ms. Lou Kennedy - Nephron Pharmaceuticals, CEO; SCBIO - Chair

Public Policy & Legislative Affairs

Mr. J.J. Darby, Chair - Johnson & Johnson Services, State Government Affairs
Ms. Lou Kennedy - Nephron Pharmaceuticals, CEO; SCBIO - Chair
Mr. Will Harms - Blue Cross Blue Shield of SC, VP Medical Affairs
Mr. Matthew Couvillion - Wyche Law Firm, Partner

Economic Development

Ms. Mandy Brawley, Chair - SC Department of Commerce, Deputy Director
Mr. Mike Graney - Charleston Regional Development Alliance, Vice President
Mr. Marc Metcalf - Upstate SC Alliance, Business Recruitment Officer

Research & Innovation

Ms. Christine Dixon Thiesing, Chair - SCRA, Director of Academic Programs
Dr. Martine LaBerge - Clemson University, Chair/Department of Bioengineering
Mr. Chad Hardaway - University of South Carolina, Associate Director/Office of Econ. Engagement
Mr. Michael Rusnak - MUSC Foundation for Research Development, Exec. Director; SCBIO - Treasurer

Marketing & Public Relations

Mr. Sam Patrick, Chair - SCBIO Director of Marketing
Ms. Danielle Besser - Upstate SC Alliance
Ms. Tressa Gardner - SE Institute of Manufacturing & Technology, AVP
Ms. Claire Gibbons - Charleston Regional Development Alliance

Ms. Jennifer Oladipo - Journalist & Communications Consultant
Ms. Aimee Redick - Upstate SC Alliance